DJ Ian Head – July 2011: untitled (Mix)

Nur wenige DJs verstehen es Musik so zu mischen, Genre und Skills-technisch, wie der aus Amiland stammende DJ Ian Head. Warum dieser begnadete Kerl bei Facebook bis dato nur 228 Fans hat ist mir gänzlich unverständlich. Auf jedenfalls haut er jeden Monat einen Mix raus – und diese Mixe sind mehr als empfehlenswert.

Hier seine Beschreibung für den unbeniteltens Juli-Mix 2011:

Tossing the July tape out there a couple days early since I’m headed out of town. This mix is an eclectic combination of folkysoulpyschblues, basically where my mood has been this past month of long workdays and hot weather. Untitled cuz I don’t know how to categorize it – it’s slow-moving, I guess, with songs about drifting away and social stagnation, but also dreams of the future. This isn’t a breaks or groove tape, more of a vibe-type piece, slapping together a few joints you’ll recognize and some in-between parts of recent finds you might not. No track list this month, just hit play and see what you think. – DJ Ian Head

DOWNLOAD + Listen: DJ Ian Head – July 2011: untitled (.mp3)

DJ Ian Head – Covers Vol.1 Mixtape

“Collecting records teaches you music in a different way than studying music” –DJ Ian Head

Der Dezember 2008 Mix für everydaybeats dot net kommt von DJ Ian Head und ist komplett Cover-Versionen gewidmet. Der Mann aus Brookly mischt 39 Minuten lang eine schöne Auswahl von Soul, Funk und ein bisschen HipHop. SEHR geil!

Hier ein kleiner Auszug der Covers:

  • California Dreamin’
  • Maiden Voyage
  • Yes We Can
  • Ain’t No Sunshine
  • Mercy, Mercy
  • What’s Goin’ On
  • Inner City Blues
  • Feel Like Makin’ Love
  • The Thrill is Gone
  • I’m Gonna Love You Just a Little Bit More
  • Smilin’
  • Son of a Preacher Man
  • Signed, Sealed, Delivered
  • Think Twice
  • Rocky Raccoon
  • Song For My Father

DOWNLOADDJ Ian Head – Covers Vol.1 (.mp3)